Most social networks add to their functionality the ability to filter out users who can see the content you post. This means that you, as the account owner, can choose from your list of followers who can see your stories or posts and who can’t. This trend has not escaped Snapchat. To be very brief, it’s a service that allows you to send your friends pictures that are shown for a few seconds (but no more than 10 seconds). This means that you send a picture to a friend, he or she opens it, and after a few seconds, the image is erased. You have no more than 10 seconds to do anything.
On this social network, you can also post private stories or you can hide your story from someone. So, if you want to hide your Snapchat story from someone, here’s how you can do this.
What navigation is in the Snapchat app
When you open Snapchat, immediately forget about the endless newsfeed you’re used to on other social networks. After launching, the app immediately activates the camera. All chats start with a conversation, but on Snapchat, the images speak for you. Images are stored for 24 hours. Then they disappear.
Navigation in the app is also different from what you’re used to. There are no menus attached to the right or left. Snapchat users switch between different interface elements with swipes. For example, if you swipe to the right in camera mode, chat appears. Swipe down and you’ll see your account settings. Swipe left and you’ll see other people’s snaps. You can also swipe to the left to see the Discover section, where you can see snaps from various media corporations like CNN, Vice, and so on.
How to hide your story on Snapchat
If you want to hide your story on Snapchat, you have to follow these steps:
- First of all, tap on the ghost icon in the top left corner of the screen. If you’re using a bitmoji, your bitmoji will appear instead.
- Then, go to the settings menu in the top right corner of the screen.
- Scroll down and select “View My Story” under “Who Can…”.
- Finally, select one of the three available options: “Everyone”, “My Friends”, “Custom”.
The “Everyone” option means that you can allow everyone to see your story. In other words, anyone who decides to follow you can see your story. The “My Friends” option means that you can only allow friends to see your story.
The “Custom” option means that you can set up who can and cannot see your story from your friends’ list. If you choose this option, tap on the names of those friends you don’t want to see in your story.
How to make a private story on Snapchat
If you want to make a private story on Snapchat, you have to follow these steps:
- First of all, open the Snapchat app on your mobile device and sign into your account.
- Then, tap your profile icon at the top-left of screen.
- Choose the button labeled “+ Private Story” or “+ Custom Story” under the “Stories” section. Snapchat may ask you to confirm that you want to make a private story. Just tap “Private Story” again.
- Tap each follower that you want to allow to see your personal story.
- Take a photo or video, edit and add stickers or tags as desired and, finally, tap the send button.
Once you have completed these steps, your Snapchat story will be hidden from those people who shouldn’t see it. You have also to be aware that no notifications come if you block someone or hide your story from them.